Bryce H Smith won a special election Tuesday to fill a town council seat vacated in February by Mayor Francis E. “Pete” James.

Smith, a political newcomer, won handily with 116 votes over four other candidates: Arthur Branham, with 30 votes; Norwood McPherson, 17 votes; Owen Young, 11 votes; and Kenneth Robinson, three votes. Robinson withdrew from the council race earlier, asking his supporters to vote for smith.

The voter turnout of 177 was considered heavy for a special election, saidNettie Campbell, the town clerk. Elgin, in Kershaw County, has a population of 595.

James was elected mayor in February.

Smith will assume office as soon as the vote is canvassed.

The Elgin town council is composed of the mayor and four council members.

1983.05.04 - Elgin
May 4, 1983  State (published as The State)  Columbia, South Carolina Page 36


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.