At Township Auditorium – 20th Annual Dog Show To Be November 16.

The 20th annual All-Breed dog show sponsored by the Columbia Kennel Club will be held at the Columbia Township Auditorium Sunday, November 16.

A premium list for show classes and entry blanks has been printed in booklet form and is being mailed to them. Entries will close at noon on Tuesday, November 4.

A specialty of the show, which attracts hundreds of dog fanciers from all parts of the country, will be presentations by the Carolina Cocker Club. The entire show has been approved by the American Kennel Club. The event conforms to all national club rules and regulations. A. Dowell Mansfield of Alexandria, Virginia, is superintendent of the show.

Judges will be Mrs. W. C. Edmiston of Ralson, Nebraska, Derck G. Rayne of Carmel-by-the-Sea, California, and Percy Roberts on Noroton Heights, Connecticut.

Classifications to be judged by Rayne are griffon, pointers, retrievers, setters, spaniels, weimaraners, Alaskan malamutes, Belgian sheepdogs, Bernese mountain dogs, Bouviers des Flandres, boxers, briards, bull-mastiffs, collies, Doberman pinschers, Eskimos, German shepherds, schnauzers, Great Danes, great Pyrenees, Komondoraks, Kuvaszoks, mastiffs, Newfoundland, Old English sheepdogs, Puliks, Rottweilers, Samoyeds, Shetland sheepdogs, Siberian huskies, St. Bernards, and Welsh Gorgis.

Mrs. Edmiston will judge Afghan hounds, basenjis, basset hounds, beagles, bloodhounds, borzeis, coonhounds, dachshunds, deerhounds, foxhounds, greyhounds, harriers, Irish wolfhounds, Norwegian elkhounds, otter hounds, Rhodesian ridgebacks, salukies, and whippets.

Mr. Roberts will judge terriers of all types, including Airedale, Bedlington, border, bull, Cairn, Dendie Dinmont, fox, Irish, Kerry blue, Lakeland, Manchester, Norwich, schnauzers, Scottish, Sealyham, Skye, Staffordshire, Welsh and West Highland whites. He will also judge Boston terriers, bulldogs, chow chows, Dalmatians, French bulldogs, Keeshonden, Lhasa Apsos, poodles, and Schiperkes.

Entry fees will be $3.50 for puppy, novice or bred by Exhibitor classes; $5.00 for American-bred, Open and Specials only: $2.00 for each additional entry of the same dog; $1.00 for local classes; and $2.00 for Puppy Sweepstakes (cockers only).

Officers of the Columbia Kennel Club for 1958 are A. C. Moyer, president; Mrs. J. B. O’Neal, vice president; Mrs. J. B. O’Neal, vice president; Mrs. Hagood Bostick, treasurer, and Mrs. J. Bennett Rotureau Jr. of Blaney, secretary. Members of the board of directors, in addition to the officers, are Mrs. Lloyd Elam, C. A. Corbett, Dr. Walter Carll, Mrs. Charles Eagar, and George Gunther.

The show committee is under the chairmanship of Mrs. J. B. O’Neal. Members are A. C. Moyer, Burrell Sanders, Mrs. Hagood Bostick, Mrs. Walter Carll, Mrs. William S. Hicks, Mrs. Delores Younginer, Mrs. Paul R. M. Miller, Mrs. Charles J. Eagar Jr., and Mrs. J. Bennett Rotureau Jr.

October 7, 1958  Columbia Record (published as The Columbia Record) 
 Columbia, South Carolina
Page 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.