94 Civilian Employees at Fort Get Achievement Certificates

In a ceremony at Fort Jackson Wednesday, 94 civilian employee of the 19 post Exchanges on the post were presented certificates of achievement, indicating the successful completion of a course of instruction in “salesmanship and exhibited proficiency in subsequent application.”

Fifty-one of the certificate recipients were from Columbia.

The speakers, Col. Carl E. Lundquist acting assistant 8th Infantry division commander, and Mrs. Mamie T. Willoughby, personnel manager of the Atlanta Regional Exchange office, were introduced by Maj. John A. Spencer, Fort Jackson exchange officer.

Prior to the presentation ceremonies, an appropriate musical program was presented by the 8th Infantry division band under the direction of Chief Warrant Officer Ralph C. Church.

Columbians receiving certificates were: Carolyn Brabham, Mary Ferrell, Frankie Lewis, Lois Ready, Bruce Robinson, Ulden Tucker, Rodney McConnell, Hilma Rucker, Deannie Hess, Annie Huggins, Kathleen Mitchell, Mary Poston, Edith Turbeville, Pete Amerson, Minnie R. Austin, James Callaham, Julia Haltiwanger, Kathryn Jones, Louise Stack, Bertha Vaselion, Alice Amerson, Irene Baer, Lavetta Bradshaw, Margaret Love, Doris Morris, Bernard Ranson, Helen Gerald, Lola Meetze, Dorothy Mrazek, Virginia Taylor, Ann Harwell, Sadie McCarty, Carolyn Padgett, Esther Rodgers, Bertha Whitener, Mary Wilson, Wilma Painter, Jeannie Smith, Eva Cook, Viola Kimball, Jesten Padgett, Maggie J. Robertson, Lucille Martin, Louise Reese, Ernestine Williams, Sue Harmon, Alice Loupe, Ethel Schumpart, Eva Dixon, Abbie Dewey, Evelyn Goodson, Barbara Graham, Ruby Dawkins and Blondell Harris.

Also receiving certificates were the following from Eastover; Inez Busbee, Betty Wilson, Laura Roberts, Nellie Wilson, Margaret Craft, Lois Peeke, Gladys Brown, Elma Dryden, Ola Belle Walker and Inez Peake.

Others from South Carolina were Eloise Miller, Edgerton; Geraldine Hunter, Durham; Alva J. Hardin, State Park; Christine Maher, Batesburg; Alberta Moore, Lugoff; Ruby Crider, Orangeburg; Martha Holley, Bethune; Margie Sellars, Lugoff; Gladys Jacobs, Blaney; Betty Mosely, Whitmire; Alvin C. Outlaw, Dentsville, and Martha Amick, Prosperity.

The rest of the certificates went to Jane Ryder, Fort McPherson, Ga.; Maline Sunrich, Rome, Ga.; Miriam Harris, Louisville, Miss.; Enda Brooks, Lanett, Ala.; Jessie Salter, Evergreen, Ala.; Janice Lindsay, Mobile, Ala.; Florence Truitt, Montgomery, Ala.; Lucille Cole, Durham, N. C.; Forestine Arnold, Stevenson, Ala.; Kathryn Green, Ashland, Ky.; Jacqueline Weaver, Bethlehem, Pa.; Marsha Wazal, Fort Dix, N. J.; Jewel Charron, Camp Funston, Kas.; Olga Boudreaux, Erie, Pa.; Virginia Ostrander, Lowell, Mass.; and Betty Watkins, Fort Dix, N. J.

September 1, 1951  State (published as The State)  
Columbia, South Carolina
Page 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.