Highlights of Third Annual Girls State in Session Here

Adorining this page is a pictorial review of the third annual Palmetto Girls State, a project of self-government sponsored by the South Carolina American Legion auxiliary. Shown here are members of the feminine general assembly, including the chief executive, senators, congresswomen, mayors and city councilmen – Oops, councilwomen – of the state and the four girls state cities named for a past department president. In the top left panel are the citizens of the four cities of Skipper, Morgan, Bikle and Capplemann. They are from left to right; First row, Skipper City, Barbara Ann Shaw of Marrion, Evelyn Moore of Fountain Inn, Ann Colcock mayors, of Allendale, Patsy Waters of Winnsboro and Mary Johnson of Columbia. Second row, Bikle City, Ruth Watkins of Bishopville, Martha Young of Clinton, Lois Bozard, mayor, of St. Matthews, Frances Winns of CLinton and Janell Norton of Easley, Third row, Morgan City, Dana Hinson of Tatum, Doris Bethea, mayor, of Dillion, Blanche Ann Worthy of Chester, Marianne Farmer of Union, Connie Osborne of Lancaster, Nancy Heath of Pageland and Joyce Tzinieris of Aiken.

In the scene at the top right are Girls State leaders with their directors at a tea held in their honor at the governor’s mansion Thursday. From left to right they are Mrs. Irvin F. Belser, chairman and director of the Girls State; Joyce Gross of Barnwell, lieutenant governor; Kittie Stuckey of Bishopville, state chairman of the Paschal party; Mrs. J. Strom Thurmond, co-director, and Shirley Ford of Conway, governor and state chairman of the Johnson party.

Senators of the Girls State are show in the picture at left center, from left to right they are Marilyn Dickert of Columbia, Ann Matthews of Newberry, Lois Boheler of Blackburg, Betty Ann Coker of Darlington, Martha Jane Dixon of Greenville, Carolyn Tarrant of Clemson and Martha Elizabeth Beasley of Greenwood. Second Row, Baine Morris of Olar, Himmie Page of Elko, Perry Rumph of St. George, Charlotte Rose Irwin of Charleston, Harriet Withers of North Charleston, Peggy Sharpe of North Ann Douglas of Chesterfield, Ann Byrd of Greenwood, Kathryn Corley of Lexington, Bobbie Gene Eagerton of Florence and Peggy Lipscomb of Greenville. Third row, Mary Moore Wannamaker of Orangeburg, Carolyn White of Columbia, Kittie Stuckey of Bishopville, Clelia Garrison of Darlington, Louise Waters of Sumter, Madge Black of Balney, Charlie Skelton of Greenville, Christine bates of North Augusta and Joretta Cabaniss of Union.

The Girls State governor is show in the right center panel meeting some mayors, From left to right they are Mayor William McG. Morrison of Charleston, Joyce Gross of Barnwell, Girls State lieutenant governor: Mayor W. E. Bynum of Sumter, Shirley Ford of Conway, Girls State governor, and Mayor Frank C. Owens of Columbia.

In the lower left Panel are the members of the house of representatives of the Girls State, From left to right they are First row, June Pulaski of Hampton, Ada Goethe of Estill, Betty Blakeley of Andrews, June Walker of West Columbia and Mary Jane Cox of Elloree, Second row, Bobbie Steel of West columbia, Ann Black of Barnwell, Ruth Vickery of North Charleston, Janette Varner of Ridgeville, Retta Heustess of Winnsboro, Patricia Thornley of Moncks Corner and Carol Palmer of Ninety-Six, Third row, Peggy Blakeley of Kingstree, Betty Sheriff of Springfield, Isabelle Thompson of Camden, Margaret McLeod of Chesterfield, Sarah Doyle of Georgetown and Celia Wells of Florence, Fourth Row, Eleanor Davis of Cheraw, Nancy Patrick of Manning, Phyllis Unger of Saluda, Sara Mae Hutto of Fort Mill, Celesta Dealey of Tillman, Jane Thomas, Frances Blanton of Summerton, Ann Gene Buck of Conway, Fifth row, Louise Beach of Bluffton, Joanne Dove of Chesterfield, Caroline Reames of Anderson, Frankie Joyce of Newberry, Ann Colins of Mullins, Margaret Ann Eaddy of Hemingway, Janie Meador of Union, Mary Beth Conrad of Orangeburg, Margaret Moss of Blacksburg and Ila Louise Price of Lake City.

Five Columbia girls who were citizens at the girls State are show in the scene at the lower right panel. From left to right they are Madge Black of Blaney, Marilyn Dickert (standing), student at Dreher high; Mary Johnson (seated in front of Miss Dickert), student at Columbia high; Carolyn White, student at University high, and Pat Hatfield of Eau Claire, student at Columbia high school. (All photos by Munn.)

June 12, 1949  State (published as The State)  
Columbia, South Carolina
Page 37

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.