Irmo FFA Chapter Wins Grand Prize of Purebred Bull Calf At Livestock Show Held Here

The Irmo chapter received the grand prize awarded to the chapter showing the best all-round exhibit at the Future Farmer Purebread Livestock show held at the State Fair grounds yesterday. For  this accomplishment, the Irmo chapter will receive a purebred dairy type bull calf valued at $150.

Approximately 250 Future Farmers of America gathered at the fairgrounds to show and observed exhibits of purebred livestock. Chapters taking part in the livestock show and teacher adviser for each chapter were as follows; Batesburg -Leesville, S. A. Murphy; Blaney C. E. Young; Blythewood, H. S. Allen; Brookland-Cayce, J. D. McCormick; Chapin, L. B. Looper; Columbia, S. W. Epting: Dentsville, E. E. Peckham: Fairview, L. H Pursley; Gilbert, W. L. Jackson; Irmo, T. C. Wright; Lexington, Duke Richardson; Swansea, W. P. Leaphart.

Each chapter entered a judging team consisting of three FFA members. These teams judged swine, poultry and dairy calves. The Batesburg-Leesville chapter team, consisting of Don Padgett, James Adams and Nevin Whiteside, won first place and $10 cash in this contest. The Blaney team placed second, the Columbia team third. Jessie Wessinger of the Columbia team was individual high scorer.

In the poultry exhibit, the pen of Rhode Island Reds, exhibited by Jack Allison of Columbia chapter took first place. Jack will receive 100 baby chicks. Second place in the poultry exhibit went  to Fred Stewart of the Chapin chapter; third place went to J. D. Drafts of the Irmo chapter.

In the brood sow class, J. D. Drafts’ Berkshire sow placed first and won for him one purebred gilt valued at $25. Second place went to the Hampshire exhibited by Herbert Inabinet of Swansea; third place went to the Duroc Jersey exhibited by Jasper Moak of Blaney.

In the dairy calf division placings were as follows: First, Sollee Bedenbaugh of Gilbert: second, Denzil Ready of Batesburg_Leesville; third, William Terry of Dentsville; fourth, Fred Stewart of chapin, and fifth, Herbert Inahinet of Swansea. Prizes were: First purebred heifer calf valued at $75; second, purebred gilt valued at $25; third, 100 baby chicks, and fourth and fifth, 50 baby chicks.

Awards in each chapter to gilt exhibitors were as follows; First, purebred heifer calf; second, purebred boar. Chapter winners were as follows; Batesburg – Leesville, first, Pickens Riser: second, James Adams; Blaney, First, Hewyward Kirkland, second, Andrea Brown, Blythewood, First, H. T. Lovett, second, Billy Brown; Brookland-Cayce, First, George Mathias, Second, Carl Watts; Chapin, first, Ellabe Summer, second, Bobby Clark; Columbia, First Deck Elazer, second, Jack Allison; Dentsville, first Judge Motley, second, L. B. Miles; Fairview, first Perry Hall, Second, Thornwell Rish; Gilbert, First, Cecil Rice, second, Julius Drafts; Irmo, first, Bernard Shuler, second. Walter Browning; Lexington, first, Ray Rawl, second, Bernard Oswald; Swansea, first, Hampton Ott, second, Otis Dantzler.

Professor R. R. Ritchie of the Animal Husbandry department, Clemson college, judge by H. D. Caughman of Lexington, S. A. Murphy, vocational agriculture teacher at Batesburg-Leesville school, judged the poultry exhibits.

This project is sponsored by Sears Roebuck and company in cooperation with the state department of education. Edward Carrol, manager of Sears Roebuck company here in Columbia, made the awards.

1946.12.12 - Irmo FFA Chapter Wins Grand Prize of Purebred Bull Calf At Livestock Show Held Here
December 12, 1946 State (published as The State) Columbia, South Carolina Page 16

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.