FFA Chapter Of Irmo Wins Exhibit Prize

Approximately 250 Future Farmers of America gathered at the fair grounds to show and observe exhibits of purebred livestock yesterday.

Chapters taking part in the livestock show and teacher advisor for each chapter were: Batesburg-Leesville, S. A. Murphy; Balney, C. E. Young: Blytewood, H. S. Allen; Brookland-Cayce, J. C. McCormick; Chapin, L. B. Looper; Columbia, S. W. Epting; Dentsville, E. E. Peckham: Fairview, L. H. Pursley; Gilbert, W. L. Jackson; Irmo, T. C. Wright; Lexington, Duke Richardson; Swansea, W. P. Leaphart.

The Irmo chapter received the grand prize awarded to the chapter showing the best all-round exhibit. For this accomplishment, the Irmo chapter will receive a purebred dairy type bull calf valued at $150.

Each chapter entered a judging team consisting of three FFA members. These teams judged swine, poultry and dairy calves. The Batesburg-Leesville chapter team, consisting of Don Padgett, James Adams and Nevin Whiteside, won first place and $10 in cash in this contest. The Blaney team placed second, the Columbia ream third Jessie Wessinger of Columbia team was individual high score.

In the poultry exhibit, the pen of Rhode Island Reds, exhibited by Jack Allison of Columbia chapter took first place. Jack will receive 100 baby chicks. Second place in the poultry exhibit went  to Fred Stewart of the Chapin chapter; third place went to J. D. Drafts of the Irmo chapter.

In the brood sow class, J. D. Drafts’ Berkshire sow placed first and won for him one purebred gilt valued at $25. Second place went to the Hampshire exhibited by Herbert Inabinet of Swansea; third place went to the Duroc Jersey exhibited by Jasper Moak of Blaney.

In the dairy calf division placings were as follows: First, Sollee Bedenbaugh of Gilbert: second, Denzil Ready of Batesburg_Leesville; third, William Terry of Dentsville; fourth, Fred Stewart of chapin, and fifth, Herbert Inahinet of Swansea. Prizes were: First purebred heifer calf valued at $75; second, purebred gilt valued at $25; third, 100 baby chicks, and fourth and fifth, 50 baby chicks.

Awards in each chapter to gilt exhibitors were as follows; First, purebred heifer calf; second, purebred boar. Chapter winners were as follows; Batesburg – Leesville, first, Pickens Riser: second, James Adams; Blaney, First, Hewyward Kirkland, second, Andrea Brown, Blythewood, First, H. T. Lovett, second, Billy Brown; Brookland-Cayce, First, George Mathias, Second, Carl Watts; Chapin, first, Ellabe Summer, second, Bobby Clark; Columbia, First Deck Elazer, second, Jack Allison; Dentsville, first Judge Motley, second, L. B. Miles; Fairview, first Perry Hall, Second, Thornwell Rish; Gilbert, First, Cecil Rice, second, Julius Drafts; Irmo, first, Bernard Shuler, second. Walter Browning; Lexington, first, Ray Rawl, second, Bernard Oswald; Swansea, first, Hampton Ott, second, Otis Dantzler.

1946.12.12 - FFA Chapter Of Irmo Wins Exhibit Prize
December 12, 1946 Columbia Record (published as The Columbia Record) Columbia, South Carolina Page 17

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.