Many Offer For Kershaw County Posts

Camden, June 1 – (Special) – With the entry list closing at noon today the political horizon became clarified when the voters of Kershaw county were able to scan the list of those who will offer in the coming primary.

There are five in the race for the two house seats, L. C. Clyburn and John Rabon, incumbents, are both offering for re-election. The other three in the race are R. M. Kennedy, Jr., Grover C. Usher and Ezell Kelly, James H. Clyburn is unopposed for clerk of court, while Mrs. Kathleen B. Watts, present superintendent of education, will be opposed by Arthur Stokes.

Mrs. Clarence M. Hough is unopposed for game warden. J. I. Turner has no opposition for cotton weigher, M. L. Smith, Jr., will be opposed as magistrate in Camden by Charles B. Blyther, John A. Young is unopposed for magistrate in Bethune and W. R. Taylor has no opposition at Kershaw.

Three are offering at Flat Rock, L. W. Fletcher, B. D. Vincent and G. R. Clements, A. B. Young is unopposed for magistrate at Blaney but in Upper West Wateree, Joe D. Barefield will make the race against Ben Humphries. Usher N. Myers will have no opposition as director of DeKalb township and Paul E. Jones is unopposed in Buffalo township. In Flat Rock the race will be between J. H. Sowelll and P. A. McDowell.

June 2, 1944  State (published as The State)  
Columbia, South Carolina
Page 6

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.