Hartsville Boy Wins First Place In Essay Contest

Tom Newsome of the Hartsville Hight School, has been announced by James H. Hope, state superintendent of education, as winner in South Carolina of the Cotton Essay contest sponsored by the Cotton Trade Journal of Memphis, Tenn. He will receive a cash award of $100.

Second place with an award of $75 went to Harris Hinnant of the Ridgeway high school; third prize of $50 to Carrol Gilliam, Union high school, and fourth prize of $25 to Egeria Mims of the Harleyville high school.

Subject of the essays was “The Contribution Cotton Is Making to the War Effort.” The state winning essay will compete with the winning essays from 15 other cotton producing states, for the grand prize, a trip to New York with all expenses paid by the New York Cotton exchange.

In the counties four prizes were offered: first place, $10.00; second place, $7.00; third place, $5.00, and fourth place, $3.00.

Following is the list of winners from counties taking part in the contest; Aiken county, Catherine Ackles of North Augusta, Louise Florie of North Augusta, Mary Ruth Dunbar of North Augusta and Collean Ackles of North Augusta; Allendale County, Eloise Brabham of Allendale, Elizabeth Wilson of Allendale and Medrue Hiers of Allendale.

Also, Andreson county, Margaret Moorehead, girls’ school, Pauline Neely of Pelzer, Edit Lollis of Pelzer and Carol Morgan, girls’ school; Bamberg county, Virgil Hicks of Bamberg, Payton Huggins of Denmark, Marion Elkins of Denmark and Winifred Sandifer of Bamberg; Barnwell county, Gloria Matthews of Williston-Elko, Jeanette Quattlebaum of Williston-Elko, Ellis Howard Fogle of Williston-Elko and Tom H. Ackerman of Williston-Elko; Cherokee county, Moffatt Thomas of Blacksburg, Lillie Mae Dover of Blackburgs, Antha Hughey of Blacksburg, and Virginia Cobb of Blacksburg; Chester county, Dorothy Lindsay of Chester and Julia Viola Gladden of Richburg; Chesterfield county, Minnie Burch of Ruby, Lazell Douglas of Chesterfield, Nona Jean Gardner of Cheraw and Kenneth Williams of Chesterfield; Darlington county, Tom Newsome of Hartsville, Alex Shaw of Hartsville, Ronny Oates of Hartsville and Emmett Brown of Hartsville.

Also, Dorchester county, Egeria Mims of Harleyville, Carolyn Bishop of Harleyville, Mary Kimmerlin of Harleyville and Myrtle Canaday of Harleyville; Fairfield county, Harris Hinnant of Ridgeway, Jeannette Copper of Ridgeway, Harriet Palmer of Ridgeway and Furman Dobson of Ridgeway; Kershaw County, Skottowe DePass of Camden, Jean Gregory of Mt. Pisgah, Thelma Peake of Blaney and Grace Faulkenberry of Bethune; McCormick county, Pauline Stokes of John de la Howe, Johnson Weekley of John de la Howe, Betty Lou Freeman of John de la Howe, and Lillie Mae Nix of John de la Howe; Pickens county, Jean Simmons of Dacusville, Roy Bowen of Pickens, O. W. Golden of Pickens and Edwin McNeely of Pickens; Spartanburg county, Laura Margaret Wolfe fo Gramling, Cecil Swain of New Prospect, John Earle Webb of New Prospect and Glenn Coggins of New Prospect; Union county, Carroll Gilliam of Union, Molina Kinsey of Union, Billy Richbourg of Union and Charles Gaden; York county, Esther Anna McAlhaney of Fort Mill, Jean Howie of Fort Mill, Christine Hinson of Fort Mill and Oscar Hammond, Jr.

June 1, 1944  Columbia Record (published as The Columbia Record)  
Columbia, South Carolina
Page 9

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.