Home Economics Girls’ Convention At Winthrop

Rock Hill, April 4. — High school girls, 200 strong, hold the annual Junior Homemakers convention and state contest at Winthrop college March 22-23.

The opening meeting of the Junior Homemakers’ convention was held Friday eventing at the Winthrop college shack following registration in Thurmond hall and supper at the shack. During the meeting the state JHA officers, president, Caroline McCutchen, Bishopville; first vice president, Ruth Brock, Seneca; Second vice-president, Martha Thomas, Duncan; secretary, Mary Hogg, Barnwell, and reporter, Ann Boney, Blythwood, initiated nine Winthrop college home economics majors as charter members of a collegiate chapter of the Palmetto Junior Homemakers’ Association of South Carolina.

The following girls were initiated: President, Margaret Carr; vice-president, Frances Graham; secretary, Leslie Lightsey; treasurer, Polly McGill; social director, Margaret Hatchell, and Lavilla Britt, Virginia Davis, Anna Lynch, Virginia Watson, Miss Florence Andrews, instructor of Winthrop college, is advisor for the chapter.

At the same meeting the following girls  were nominated for state officers for 1940 – 1941; President, Lois Ross, Parker High school and Doris Pearson, Laurens; first vice-president, Mace Robertson, Rock Hill, and Jane Walden, Fairforest; second vice president, Joyce Hart; Olympia, and Erline McDonald, Blythewood; secretary, Miriam Hickman, Loris, and Saide Dusenbery, Conway: reporter, Claire Stoudenmire, Cameron.

Saturday was a full day with the entire morning given over to a second business session and to the showing of last year’s dress contest picture, Carolyn McCutchen, state JHA president, presided over the business session. The state secretary, Mary Hogg, reported that 142 state affiliated JHA chapters and state reporter, Ann Boney, reported on the growth of chapters over a period of three years; on the number of rallies held and radio programs given during the year; on fair attendance, trips, camps and other activities. At this meeting, Dr. Shelton Phelps, president of Winthrop college, spoke to the delegates and contestants, welcoming them to the college. Miss Lilliam C. Hoffman, state supervisor of home economics education, and Freddie Puckherber, JHA delegate from Walhalla, and Miriam Hickman, JHA delegate from Loris, spoke to the group on the camps now being built in Oconee county and at Ocean Drive in Horry County.

Saturday afternoon a fashion show of showing dresses entered by 56 seniors from the same number of schools was held in the Music hall auditorium. Immediately after the fashion show the state officers for the fashion show the state officers for 1940-1941 were installed. They are: President, Lois Ross, Parker high school, Greenville; first vice-president, Mace Robertson, Rocky Hill; second vice-president, Joyce Hart, Olympia; secretary, Miriam Hickman, Loris and reporter, Claire Stoudenmire, Cameron.

The convention closed Saturday evening with a banquet in Thurmond hall for the JHA delegates, the dress contestants and teachers.

Miss Lillian C. Hoffman, state supervisor of home economics education announced at the banquet the following state winners: Dress contest, first, Margaret Workman of Woodruff; second, Elizabeth Drayton of Bishopville; third, Jeannette Cauthen of Baron DeKalb school, Westville; honorable mention, Betty Lathen, Dacusville; Shadie Armstrong, Greenville, and Rachel Grubbs, Rock Hill.

Handicraft Contest: First, Walhalla high school; second, Pickens high school, and third, Charleston junior high.

In the year book contest Conway high school and Parker high school, Greenville, tied for first place. Honorable mention went to Barnwell high school and to Pickens high school.

These Judges for the the handicraft and dress contests were senior home economics majors. The year books were judged by members of the college home economics faculty.

Miss Sara E. Cragwall, head of home economics education, Winthrop college; Miss Edna Mishler, instructor Winthrop college; Miss Frances Williams, Itinerant teacher trainer, Winthrop college; Miss Velma Ward, President of Phi U, and Margaret Carr, president of the collegiate JHA chapter, were responsible for the arrangements at the college for the convention and contests and for the banquet and all meals prepared and served by home economics majors at Winthrop.

The following schools sent 80 delegates, 56 contestants, 92 teacher and 26 visitors to Winthrop for the convention and contest; Aiken, Sharon, Windsor, Allendale, Honea Path, Pendleton, Denmark, Blackville, Barnwell, Cross, Monks Corner, Cameron, St. Matthews, Charleston junior high, Meminger high, Charleston; Blacksburg, Gaffney, Angleus, Chester, Turbeville, Antioch, Darlington, Hartsville, Larmar, Dillon, Jenkinsville, Berea, Ellen-Woodside, Greenvile; Mauldin, Parker, Welcome, West Gantt, Ninety-Six, Vanville, Estill, Conway, Loris, Blaney, Westville, Lancaster, Heath Springs, Clinton, Laurens, Ashwood, Bishopville, Batesburg-Leesville, Brookland-Cayce,  Irmo, Lexington, Bennettsville, McColl, Marion, Mullins, De La Howe, Bush River, Fairplay, Keowee, Seneca, Walhalla, Westminster, Tamassee, Branchville Cope, North, Providence, Norway, Dacusville, Easley, Pickens, Blythewood, Olympia, Boiling Springs, Cowpens, Chesnee, Duncan, Fairforest, New Prospect, Pauline, Wellford, Woodruff, Roebuck, Sumter, Cades, Kingstree, Greeleyville, Rock Hill, Indian Land, Hickory Grove and Sharon.

1940.04.05 - Home Economics Girls Convention At Wintrop
April 5, 1940  State (published as The State)  Columbia, South Carolina Page 16

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.