Catherine Harrison, Varnville, Wins DAR Capital Trip

The Daughters of the American Revolution in promoting the appreciation of good citizenship amount young people, offer annually a trip to Washington for one Public high school girl from each state. All expenses are paid, and many inspirational tours, which interpret the national history and government prove of unusual interest to the sinning girls.

During the month of January, members of the senior classes in the public high schools of the state choose, by vote, the three girls of the class, who excel in the following four qualities of character, desirable in good citizens, namely; Dependability – which includes truthfulness loyalty, punctuality; service – co-operation, courtesy, consideration of others; leadership – personality, self-control, ability to assume responsibility, and patriotism – unselfish interest in family, school, community and nation. of these three girls, the teacher choose one.

The girls representing the various high school participating, are thus chosen by the combined judgement of their classmates and their teacher, and are never appointed. The trip to Washington is an award for strength of character and not a prize for popularity.

The winner this year from South Carolina is Miss Cartherine Harrison of Varnville Hight school, Varnville, second place going to Miss Penelope Parker of Winyah high school, Georgetown, with Miss Annette Durant of Manning high school as third choice. Mrs. H. H. McGill, state chairman of the Good Citizenship Pilgrimage committee, of the South Carolina Daughters of the American Revolution, with a group of other South Carolina D. A. R. met in the office of the state superintendent of education for the drawing. This year 130 high schools participated, which was in increase over the number for last year.

Miss Harrison will be able to spend a week in Washington and will be presented on the opening night of Continental Congress, which is always a brilliant occasion, at which time, Mrs. Henry M. Robert, president general of National Society D. A. R., will present each Pilgrim with a lovely medal or pin.

W. D. Nixon, state high school supervisor, made a brief talk and congratulated the D. A. R. on the fine work done through its youth training program for better citizenship. Mrs. William Sutherland Allen state regent, addressed the group prior to the drawing.

The following girls were chosen by their respective schools;

Martha Elizabeth West, Abbeville; Loris William, Aiken; Harriet Houser, Allendale; Frances Janyne McGee, Anderson; Sarah Emily Harris, Barnwell; Margaret Drakeford, Baron DeKalb high school, Westville; Nancy Lee Rogers, Bennettsville; Thelma Hawkins, Berea high school, Rt. 3, Greenville; Blanche Edna Brannon, Bethune; Elizabeth Drayton, Bishopville; Marie Essa, Blacksburg; Jean Ficklin, Blackville; Marjorie Outlaw, Blaney; Nanette Broom, Blythewood; Mary Ellen Utsey, Bowman.

Also, Theresa Raynor, Brookland-Cayce schools, West Colubmia; Marion Funderburk, Buford high school, R. F. D., Lancaster; Gladys Duncan, Calhoun-Clemson high school, Clemson; Mary Smith, Camden; Sue Caughman, Cameron; Irma Avant, Centenary; Evelyn Dobson, Central; Mabel Brown, Cheraw; Vivian Cleland, Cleveland high school, Madison; Harriet Cousar Stanton, Clio.

Also, Leone Strickland, Columbia high school, Columbia; Elizabeth Floride Singleton, Conway; Mary Lois Queen, Cross Anchor; Mildred Hart, Dacusville; Nancy Gregorie, Denmark; Annette Liles, Dillon; Helen Cantey, Dreher high school, Columbia; Sara Bass Freeman, Easly; Aline Williams, Edgefield; Grace Dantzler, Eutawville; Dorothy Falls, Fairforest; Evelyn Mays, Fair Play; Neddie Belle Stanton, Fletcher Memorial high school, McColl; LaLine Mills, Florence; Harriet Crosby, Fort Lawn; Bettye Joyce Lee, Fort Mill; Betty Parsons, Fountain Inn; Doris Crosby, Gable; Cleo Moss, Gaffney.

Also Doris Keisler, Gilbert; Frances Jackson, Graniteville; Ida Hunter, Great Falls; Margaret Horne, Green Sea; Anna Lector McKinney, Greenwood; ThetisBallenger, Greer; Wilma Frances Coleman, Hannah high school, Hyman; Jane Coker, Hartsville; Aretas Way. Hemingway; Hattie Rowell, Hilda; Ednee McCants, Indiantown high schol, Cades; Mary Harriet Matthews, J. C. Lynch high school, Coward; Martha Middleton, Jefferson; Virginia Ashford, Jenkinsville; Margaret Clark, John De la Howe high school, McCormick; Jeanne Lott, Johnston; Frederica Richardson, Johnsonville.

Also, Alene Stokes, Jordan high school, R. 2. Greer; Edith Oliver, Keowee high school, Seneca; Caroline Bell, Kershaw; Frances Lifrage, Kingstree; Mary Smith, Lake City; Christine Mobley, Lancaster; Dorothy Goodwin, Landrum; Ann Fore, Latta; Catherine M. Heniford, Loris Louise Carabo, Lower Marlboro high school, Blenheim; Marie Caddell, Macedonia high school, Bonneau.

Also, Annette DuRant, Manning; Sara Callahan, Marion; Mary McPherson, McBee; Miller Nobles, McClellanville; Sara Wilson Keels, McColl; Kathryn La Bruce, Memminger high school, Charleston; Carolyn Edgeworth, Mt. Croghan; Wilhelmina Douglas, Mount Zion institute, Winnsboro; Ellen Jenerette, Mullins; Rosemary Bowers, Newberry; Ovileen Hutchinson, Nichols; Lily Eddy, Ninety Six; Mary Dougherty, North.

Also, Betty Reddic, North Augusta; Mary Wood, North Charleston; Mary Ann Gill, Oakley Hall high school, Rodman; Martha Bruce, Oakway high school, Seneca; Arnette Herbert, Orangeburg; Pauline McGraw, Pacolet; Jessie Cockfield, Pamplico; Beverly Turner, Parker high school, Greenville; Edith Redmond, Pelion; Vivian Hindman, Pelzer; Eulalia Hester, Pickens; Virginia Wadford, Pine Grove high school, Lone Star; Stoubeth Cauthen, Richburg; Rebekah Robinson, Rock Hill high school, Rock Hill; Velma Poole, Salley.

Also, Ruth DeLoache, Saluda; Jacqueline Dennis, Scranton; Mary Agnes McMahan, Seneca; Moselle McElveen, Sherwood high school, Lynchburg; Esther Hendrix, silverstreet; Rheba Kelley, Six Mile; Mildred Shebhane, Slater-Marietta high school, Marietta; Edna Rainville, Spartanburg; Alma Watson, St. Albans high school, Piedmont; Harriett Jones, St. Matthews; Catherine Jenkins, Summerville; Mary Frances Davis, Swansea; Edna Blackwell, Tamassee D. A. R. Hight school. Tamassee; Mary Nell Newby, Travelers Rest; Ruby Butler, Trenton; Kate Gamble, Turbeville; Dorothy Collins, Union.

Also, Louise Summers, University high school, Columbia; Catherine Harrison, Varnville; Laura Aileen Gibbs, Wagener; Gladys Fretwell, Walhalla; Ethel Sprott, Walterboro; Essie Dunlap, W. L. T. high school, Wellford; Mary Davis, Williamston; Elnora Pender, Williston-Elko high school, Williston; Penelope Parker, Winyah high school, Georgetown; Margaret Turner, Woodruff; Churchill Carroll, York.


1940.02.19 - Catherine Harrison, Varnville, Wins DAR Capital Trip
February 19, 1940 State (published as The State) Columbia, South Carolina Page 12

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.