Baptist Brotherhood Plans 1940 Program of Activities

With the beginning of a new year’s work today, the Baptist Brotherhood in South Carolina announces the setting up of a continuous program of activities throughout the year.

Six district meeting and 38 associational meetings are scheduled to be held during the months of January and February. From these meeting reports of activities i their respective territories will be presented at the statewide meeting, to be held here in Columbia March 5, at which many outstanding men within the denomination will deliver addresses at the morning, afternoon and evening meetings to be held that day.

The district and associational meetings will be conducted by the chairmen of those territories. These me are:

District No. 1: H. E. Coleman, Columbia, chairman; W. L. Glaze of Columbia, C. L. Rasor of Kershaw, W. B Southerlin of West Columbia. Toy Gregory of Lancaster, W. R. Pardue of Sumter and L. A. User of Pageland.

District No. 2: J. C. Spivey, Conway, chairman; Fulton Rogers of Florence, W. R. Wells of Marion, Z. L. Gray of Blenheim. Lyde Carter of Lake City, Joel Derry of Loris, C. M. Ward of Darlington and H. E. Stevens of Conway.

District No. 3: Dr. C. B. Simmons, Spartanburg, chairman; Paul Coggins of Gaffney, J. A. Howard of Great Falls, S. W. Sumerel of Clinton, Z. L. Madden of Spartanburg, Thomas M. Lyles of Spartnburg,  W. T. Kennett of Union and A. L. Park of Fort Mill.

District No. 4; Mendel Fletcher, Greenville, chairman; S. H. Knox of Seneca, Mendel Fletcher of Greenville, B.B. Steadman of Inman, R. T. Hallums, Jr., of Pickens, W. F. Evart of Easley, Dee Ellison of Belton and J. C. Roper of Six mile.

District No. 5: M.F Patten, St. George, chairman; Furman Gressette of St. Matthews. L.F. Morris of Blackville, Z. P. Hamilton of Charleston, A. C. Breland of Walterboro and E. M. Peeple of Hampton.

District No. 6: James M Edwards, Johnston, chairman; Cooper Sanders of Greenwood, S. H. Moody of Warrenville, J. H. Courtney of Trenton,  W. P. Williams of Wagener, J. Y Young of Newberry and U. X. Culium of Batesburg.

The purpose of these district and associational meetings is to acquaint the laymen of the local churches of the aims and objective of the brotherhood movement. W. B. Southerlin of West Columbia, Chairman of the state central committee, advises that the member of that committee will upon request render all available assistance to the local workers in setting up the work incident to conduct these meetings.

January 1, 1940  State (published as The State)  Columbia, South Carolina
Page 3


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.