Negro Methodist Minister Get New Assignments

Negro Methodist Minister Get New Assignments

Spartanburg, Nov. 3. – Dr. G. E. Curry of Philadelphia, Pa., and general manager of the book concern of the African Methodist Episcopal church, preached the ordination sermon last Sunday morning which closed the Columbia annual conference held here at Trinity church. Following the sermon a large class of deacons and elders were ordained by Bishop J. S. Flipper, D. D.

At the close of the business session, Dr. T. J. Miles of Columbia delivered a strong address before the conference. He has been endorsed by the conferences for the bishopric in 1940. Dr. E. A. Adams was indorsed for re-election to the office of secretary of education. Bishop J. S. Flipper, after delivering his parting message to the conference, read the following assignments:

Columbia district, H. D. Ramsey W. B. L. Clark; St. James, LeRoy Jackson; Emanuel, A. H. Dreher; Bishop Memorial, H. B. Butler: Chappells Station, E. L. Jones; Stover Chapel, J. R. A. Helums; West Columbia, B. C. Cunningham; Lexington circuit, I. O. Simmons; Leesville, Nelton Caughman; Saluda, J. C. Bates; Irmo, C. A. Dunlap; Little Mountain, H. T. Summers; Broad River, W. G. Owens; Edgefield, A. J. Melman; Pine Grove, A. R. Baten; Countsville, P. B. Burt; district president, M. B. Bouler; conference branch presidents, C. A. Adams.

Newberry district, O. C. Dunham, presiding elder; Miller Chapel, Newberry, L. G. Bowman; Shiloh, Prosperity, D. R. Bedenbaugh; Newberry circuit, W. S. Young; Mt. Hebron, S. J. Johnson; St. James, C. C. McIlvane; Mt. Moriah, S. F. Vance; Hannah, R. A. Young; Providence, J. S. Martin; Silver Street, J. A. Gamble; Helen, T. E. Robinson; Mt. Olive, K. L. Moore; Wateree, W. M. Brown; St. Luke, H. H. Garmoney; Jalapa M. P. Spearman; Nebo, J. P. Curry; Whitmire, J. W. Davis; Leitzsey, J. D. Abney; district president, V. E. Rutherford, and conference juvenile department, Etta Hart.

Lancaster district, W. J. Robinson, presiding elder; St. Paul, Lancaster, W. M. Thompson; High Hill, C. B. Cook; Bethel, P. P. McFarland; St. Philip, T. H. Weathers; Brown Chapel, M. C. Pollock; Lagree, N. A. Gary; Wedgefield, A. D. Dawkins; Willow Grove, to be supplied: Mill Creek, M. Dikes; Blaney, A. A. Amaker; Reeder Point, T. H. Ringer; Shady and Camden, N. A. Rice; Congaree, Eugene Jones: Wateree, to be supplied; Jacobs, W. S. Tresvant; St. Philips, H. H. Redman, and district president, A. E. Brogden.

Spartanburg district, T. H. Addison, presiding elder; Trinity, Spartanburg, A. M. McNeal White; Bethel, Union, V. A. Janerett; Wayman, Winnsboro, William McDonnell; Eastern circuit, J. M. Dawkins; New Hope, J. E. Dixon; White Hall, W. B. Bouler; Taylor Chapel, J. M. Williams, Shade Grove, W. R. Bowan; Mt. Zion, F. C. Laws; Kelton, E. R. Robinson, Carlisle, A. B. King; St. John, P. W. Davis; Rice Chapel and Friendship, J. H. Hall; St. Paul and Antioch, W. S. Jones; Caldwell and Bates Chapel, W. M. Jeter; Pine Grove, John Burroughs; Ridgeway, J. C. Hilton; District missionary, J. H. Bates, and District president, M. L. Addison.

Sumter district, J. S. Coe, presiding elder; Sumter, Mt. Pisgah, R. L. Pope; Bethel, A. Judge; Union, R. N. Moses; Zion, L. B. Staten; Mt. Olive, S. W. Fordham; St. John, A. J. Felix; Stateburg, Lee A. Logan; St. Luke, S. S. Burroughs; St. Paul, I. H. Dozier; Mt. Pleasant, J. R. Richardson; Union, A. Reddin; Mayesville. W. M. Gant; New Bethel, J. A. Holman; Pine Hill and Mt. Michael, S. S. Gadsden; Queen Chapel, J. L. Fogle; district president. Mattie E. Fisher, and conference branch president, A. E. Sanders.

Florence district, I. W. Janerette, presiding elder: Mt. Zion. FLorence, W. E. Richardson: Bethel, Darlington, A. J. Jenkins: Centerville; F., W. Ambrose: Mill Branch, D. D. Doughty; Kingsburg. W. S. Guiles; Mt. Calvary, R. L. McBride; St. Paul, J. H. Hughes: Trinity, G. H. Moore; Sinai, E. V. Gibbs; Oak Grove, B. L. Guiles; St. Peter, D. S. Roberson; Savannah Grove, M. N. Munnerlyn; Howard Chapel, T. H. Davis; Jordan Chapel, Dave Johnson; Emanuel, J. A. Brown; Ebenezer, John Reed; Timmonsville, Laney Miles; New Hope, W. T. Felix; district evangelist, Hazel Warsaw, and district president, E. B. Miller.

Marion district, A. P. Spears, presiding elder; Marion Station, J. M Jackson; Singletary, J. M. David; St. Mary, B. F. Stanley; Bucksport, W. D. McEachern: Good Hope and Lorris, B. J. Johnson; Myrtle Beach, H. C. Andrews; Little River, J. C. Hodge; Conway Station, M. F. Robinson; Conway circuit. Albert Oliver; Poplar, G. L. Riggins; Nichols, W. M. Foxworth; Britton Neck, J. B. Lewis; Friendship, P. H. Hyman; Neck Ben Bellamy; Mt. Pisgah, James Leonard: Allen Town, Frank Davis; BEthel Bethel Chapel. J. J. Jackson; Brooksville, J. H. Bellamy; Galivants Ferry, Mavs Davis; district evangelist, Joseph Hemingway, and district president, Nellie B. Levister.

Dillion district, L. A. Wells, presiding elder; Bethel, Dillon, J. A. McQueen; Weston Chapel, N. S. DeLaine; Ebenezer, G. W. White; Mt. Zion, S. Chism; Union, I. S. Burrells; White Chapel, W. H. McEachern; Floydale, R. Benjamin; Pine Hill, P. W. Fludd; Robinson, H. Herriotte; Levell Green, D. W. Johnson; St. Matthews, R. W. Williams; Mt. Zion, N. A. Page: Bethel and Little Zion, J. A. Brown; Mt. Carmel and Zion, J. C. McClam: Brownsville, S. Nunnerlyns, St. James, H. E. Earl, and St. Luke, E. J. Jetts.

G. C. Johnson was transferred from the Columbia conference to the Central, G. H. White was transferred from the Palmetto conference and stationed at Mullins in the Northeast conference. B. S. Taylor from the same conference was sent to the Piedmont conference, and S. A. Thompson of Northeast conference was transferred to the Ohio conference.

November 4, 1939  State (published as The State)  
Columbia, South Carolina
Page 11

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.