Blaney Schools Close

Special to The State.

Blaney, June 13. – The Blaney schools came to a very successful close Monday evening after a session of nine months. The finals began Friday evening with a play by the seventh grade and graduation exercises for the grammar school with an address by Howell Morrell of Horrell Hill.

Medals for Honor Marks were given to Barney Cooper, Minnie Grace Watson, Herbert Martin, Agnes Nelson, Valdora Perry, and A. T. Simpson. The superintendent’s medal for the highest honor mark in the grammar school was awarded to Vearl Price. Certificates of promotion to high school were given to 14 pupils.

Sunday morning, to a crowded house, the Rev. Charles L. McCain of Mooresville, N. C., preached the annual sermon to the graduating classes. Special music was rendered by the high school chorus. Monday evening came the final exercises of the year with a chorus, by the high school followed by class day exercises by the senior class.

J. T. Gettys, county superintendent of education, delivered the medals and honors for the year. The two highest medals were won by Mildred Evans and Mae Belle Moore. The faculty-trustee medal was given to Mildred Evans for having won first honors in the ninth, tenth and 11th grades. Josephine Thornton, who was second, was awarded the 11th grade medal, and Edward Maddox recieved honorable mention. Mae Belle Moore recieved the superintendent’s medal for having the highest honor mark in the highest honor mark in the high school for this year. Ada Belle Price wond the tenth grade medal with Mary Rose for honorable mention. Harvye Nelson won the ninth grade medal with Knowlton Mason for honorable mention. Elton Lovett won the eight grade medal with Fannie Monroe Getting honorable mention.

After an address to the class by Dr. Patterson Wardlaw of the University of South Carolina, Supt. Leonardo Andrea delivered state diplomas to Mildred Evans and Josephine Thornton with honors and to Edward Maddox, Lever Motley, Fred Miles, Kate Branham, Mae Belle Branham, Sara Jane Dinkins, Janie Barfield, Dezma Monroe, Lelye Rose and Clelye Rose.

June 14, 1928  State (published as The State)  
Columbia, South Carolina
Page 11

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.